The Life Series (PT.1)| Would You Date You?

wouldyoudateyou

Would you date you? I came across that question a few weeks ago and my immediate answer was an absolute “no”. I didn’t have to think about it and because of that, I was a bit startled. Then, I began to think– if I wouldn’t date me, why would I expect anyone else to have the desire to do so?

As I got into deeper thought, I began to list dozens of reasons why I wouldn’t date me. I was able to point out every single flaw and everything that I thought was wrong with me. The scary part was that I couldn’t name a single thing that I liked about myself. Not a single one. The more I thought about this, the more I knew there had to be a deeper issues.

For as long as I can remember, I have always seen myself in comparison to someone else, as opposed to a separate entity.  Even at age 22, I always find myself asking, “Why can’t you be more like_________?” Or even worse, when I was younger I’ve had people inadvertently compare me to someone as if they are they prototype and I am somehow a lesser version. And it is in that comparison that I find myself inadequate and inferior. Which in turns prompts me to point out everything I see wrong with myself and see nothing that I like.

So long story short, you have to first love yourself whole-heartedly before anything else. Blah, blah, blah.

But enough about me, would you date you?

Leave a Reply

