Christmas 2013

ImageNow, I will admit that I was not very enthusiastic about the holidays this year. I didn’t have a Christmas wish list, no New Year’s resolutions and I wasn’t super excited to light the Christmas tree. This is the first time in my life that I was not excited about the Holidays. I have always looked forward to this time of year, but this time was a bit different. I attributed my lack of enthusiasm to the fact that I was getting older and Christmas just did not have the same “umph” as it used to. That wasn’t necessarily true. Holiday excitement isn’t based on age, its caused by the sheer joy of being in the moment. 

As Christmas approached, I was dreading it. To be honest, the Christmas lights annoyed me and holiday music really got under my skin. I couldn’t even listen to my carefully crafted classic R&B holiday tunes without wanting to barf. Needless to say, I just wasn’t feeling the holidays and there was nothing that could change it. 

Finally, the dreaded day had come, December 25th. This Christmas was quite different, I didn’t get up as early as I usually did on Christmas morning. Honestly, I didn’t have a reason to. I did not have presents under the tree, there was no soothing holiday music playing, and there was no Christmas breakfast to look forward to. The only thing I had to look forward to was spending Christmas at my aunt’s house–something I had not done in years. 

Spending time at my aunt’s house wasn’t too bad. Being that I was never in the Christmas spirit, I didn’t have any expectations. But as soon as we got there I perked up and even decided to help make the Christmas Gumbo (its a Southeast Texas/Louisiana thang)! I guess you could say that Christmas was okay…now to tackle New Year’s Day. 

Here are a few pictures of my light skinned family members I decided to take on Christmas:

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

