talk about it girl: sex. love. life.

Hello, my name is Kita and I am a womanist. I am a womanist because I care greatly about the intersectionality of my race and gender. I do not believe that one takes precedence over the other; I think both are of equal importance. Okay, but what does that have to do with anything? Well one of the issues I am very passionate about is female (women of color especially) sexual freedom. Women often suppress their sexual desires, and sometimes even their sexuality because they are afraid of being labeled a ‘ho’ or a ‘slut’. Patriarchy and misogyny is something wicked isn’t it? Why can’t I be so comfortable in my sexuality that I am willing to talk about it. Why can’t I be so comfortable with my body that I am not afraid to show it? You sexualized my body, I didn’t. I have no control of how you view my body but I have full control on how I see it.

Now, I do believe there are certain things that should only be shared with someone special, but that’s just me. If you like to bring out your entire arsenal for whomever you please, do that and be proud about it. If you like to throw that ahh back from time to time, its perfectly fine. If your man gets turned on when you wear lipstick while you…you get where i’m going with this, do you boo.  As women we are conditioned to be afraid to talk about sex in any way, and that’s a problem. How can you communicate what you like and don’t like, if you don’t talk about it? C’mon how great is a good sex filled conversation with your closest friends and a fancy bottle of wine? Friends can simultaneously offer the best and worse advice. I must admit, I don’t do it as often as I should, but talk about love, relationships, and sex, you might be surprised as what you learn. 

Leave a Reply

